maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



Kappa Delta Pi Upsilon Chapter Inducts Thirty-Seven New Members


Those present at the induction ceremony were Row 1: Terra Baker, William West, Ashley Cupp, Rachel Logan, Lauren Wombles, Angela Steuer, Kelsey Dew, Kyra Tucker, Mary Lee, and Madison Branstetter. Row 2: Rebekah Klatt, Amber Hamilton, Kathleen Edwards, Kirby Sowder, Amy Roberts, Emily Campbell, Ashley Bee, and Monica Fields

Williamsburg, KY - Thirteen graduate or doctoral and twenty-four undergraduate students at University of the Cumberlands (UC) were inducted into Kappa Delta Pi Upsilon Chapter at UC in a ceremony conducted by this past week on UC’s campus.

Kappa Delta Pi is an international honor society in education founded at the University of Illinois, on March 8, 1911. The Alpha Delta Upsilon Chapter was established by Dr. Sheila Smith on April 26, 2008 at UC.

The purpose of this society is to promote excellence in and recognize outstanding contributions to education. Education is a vital societal force that encourages universal welfare and individual progress. It is the cornerstone of democracy and the foundation for personal fulfillment. Members are guided by the Ideals of Fidelity to Humanity, Science, Service, and Toil.

As a profession its purpose and challenge is to inspire young and old to grow by using their heritage; to develop a concern for the needs of others; and to strengthen moral character and personality so that collectively, as members of Kappa Delta Pi, they may be worthy examples of a rich, wholesome life.

The thirteen graduate or doctoral inductees included: Kenneth Alford (Hartford, KY), Marsha Becknell (Nicholasville, KY), Dana Boone (Carlisle, KY), Amanda Bradley (Bloomfield, KY), Heather Branum (Corbin, KY), Amanda Childress (Bowling Green, KY), Yolonda Hicks (Morgantown, KY), Jennifer Hinkle (Sugar Hill, GA), Elizabeth Martin (Peachtree City, GA), Wallace Martin (Elizabethtown, KY), Franklin Smith (Owensboro, KY), Amy Watson (Hustonville, KY), and Devonna West-Dye (Belfry, KY).

The twenty-four undergraduate inductees included: Terra Baker (London, KY), Ashley Bee (Helenwood, TN), Madison Branstetter (Lancing, TN), Emily Campbell (London, KY), Erica Christian (London, KY), Ashley Cupp (Corbin, KY), Kelsey Dew (Clinton, TN), Kathleen Edwards (Calhoun, GA), Monica Fields (Corbin KY), Loren Forgety (Clinton, TN), Christians Gillis (Knoxville, TN), Amber Hamilton (Corbin, KY), Rebekah Klatt (Benton, KY), Mary Lee (Wallins, KY), Rachel Logan (Morehead, KY), Andrew Petrey (Williamsburg, KY), Amy Roberts (Winchester, KY), Breanne Schroeder (Ottawa, OH), Kirby Sowder (Lexington, KY), Jessica Stanfill (Williamsburg, KY), Angela Steuer (Dayton, OH), Kyra Tucker (Nancy, KY), William West (Rockholds, KY) and Lauren Wombles (London, KY).

David Atwood spoke to the faculty, students, and family members on how they were entering the “Worst Profession” yet the most life changing. While teaching there is that one little moment when you touch the life of one of your students that then sparks a flame in others like a forest fire. Mr. Atwood created a standard based electronic grading and tracking system to monitor student achievements that is currently being used at Whitley County Middle School. He is also involved with the state committees to oversee the inclusion and implementation of the new CCAS math standards.

UC senior Amy Roberts was very grateful to be inducted. “I feel honored to be part of an organization in my chosen field of profession,” said Roberts. “God has truly put a desire in my heart to be an educator and I am so lucky for all of the leadership and role models I will work with in this honor society.”

Located in Williamsburg, KY, University of the Cumberlands is an institution of regional distinction, which currently offers four undergraduate degrees in more than 40 major fields of study; nine pre-professional programs; seven graduate degrees, including a doctorate and six master’s degrees; certifications in education; and online programs.