maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



Annual High School Mathematics Contest held at University of the Cumberlands

WILLIAMSBURG, Ky. – Students from 10 schools gathered at University of the Cumberlands on Tuesday, April 12, for the annual High School Mathematics Contest. The competition, sponsored by the Department of Mathematics and Physics, seeks to promote studies in these areas and to prepare students for careers in the fields of mathematics, physics and engineering. Students competed in six areas of exams: algebra I, algebra II, geometry, pre-calculus, calculus and cooperative group.

Schools participating were:

Bell County High School, Pineville, Ky.

Clinton High School, Clinton, Tenn.

Corbin High School, Corbin, Ky.

Fort Payne High School, Fort Payne, Ala.

North Laurel High School, London, Ky.

Oneida Baptist Institute, Oneida, Ky.

Sayre School, Lexington, Ky.

Somerset Christian School, Somerset, Ky.

South Laurel High School, London, Ky.

Whitley County High School, Williamsburg, Ky.

This year’s winners included:

Overall School Winners

1st – North Laurel High School

2nd – Corbin High School

3rd – Sayre School

Algebra I Exam

1st – Barrett James, North Laurel High School

2nd – Rajeev Jadhav, North Laurel High School

3rd – Ethan Pennington, Corbin High School

4th – Aiden Elias, Sayre School

5th – Kristian Sproles, Corbin High School

Algebra II Exam

1st – Pooja Kanthawar, North Laurel High School

2nd – Spencer Bolton, North Laurel High School

3rd – Nicholas Waltman, Sayre School

4th – Mason Hill, Sayre School

5th – Ben Barnett, Bell County High School


1st – Sajan Kalyan, Corbin High School

2nd – Abigail Smith, North Laurel High School

3rd – Kathryn Wilkerson, North Laurel High School

4th – Sarah Steely, Corbin High School

5th – Dylan Stiles, Clinton High School


1st – Nitin Krishna, Corbin High School

2nd – Lane Gaynor, North Laurel High School

3rd – Matthew Maher, Corbin High School

4th – Ju Hyun Park, Oneida Baptist Institute

5th – Corey Hyde, North Laurel High School


1st – Jason Bentley, North Laurel High School

2nd – Whitley Whitehead, North Laurel High School

3rd – Jie Pu, Oneida Baptist Institute

4th – Josh Noe, Whitley County High School

5th – Brendan McCray, Sayre School

Cooperative Group Exam

1st – Jeff Dzugan, Travis Leach, John Lowder and Wade Phipps; Corbin High School

2nd – Annie Ahmed, Yue Li, Cody Pfiester and John Schwarcz; Sayre School

3rd – Alli Davis and Calvin Palmer; Fort Payne High School

4th – Sang A Choi, Ji Hyun Lee, Mi Hye Park and You Chang Sung; Oneida Baptist Institute

Tie for 5th – Taylor Calebs, Jessica Gambrel, Kristin Hall and Brittani Irvine; North Laurel High School and D Butcher, Ali Chandry, Kendall Huddleston and Larry Warfield; Whitley County High School

Thirty-eight UC undergraduate volunteers helped the faculty in putting the contest on, and Dr. Taylor attended the awards ceremony in Gatliff Chapel and presented trophies, plaques and certificates to the winners. The following merchants and companies donated merchandise and gift certificates that we awarded as door prizes to teachers and students and as thank-you gifts to volunteers: David’s Steaks, Buffet & Bakery of Corbin; El Dorado Restaurant of Corbin; Kentucky Splash Water Park of Williamsburg; Texas Instruments; Tri-County Cineplex of Corbin; and Wal-Mart of Williamsburg.

University of the Cumberlands would like to congratulate all the winners and participants of the 2011 High School Mathematics Contest, and thank all those who donated time and support to this event.