maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



Cumberlands Students Initiated into Kappa Mu Epsilon

WILLIAMSBURG, Ky. - On February 24, 2010, the Kentucky Beta Chapter initiated twelve new Cumberlands students at its annual banquet at the Cumberland Inn. Lola Embree, Chapter President, presided. New members include:

• Megan Justine Barrowman, of Foster
• Aaron Kyle Bruce, of Whitley City
• Delilah Elizabeth Devore, of Eminence
• Alissa Ann Ellis, of Stanford
• Lindsey Ann Embry, of Beaver Dam
• Erin Michelle Engel, of Williamsburg, Ohio
• Candace LaShae Mack, of Williamsburg
• Jerrid Randall Neeley, of Annville
• Olivia Kay Neeley, of Fayetteville, Ga.
• Amy Rachelle Roberts, of Winchester
• Melodye Jayne Smith, of Pineville
• Michelle Thornton Weber, of Louisville

For the 2010-2011 school year, the Kentucky Beta Chapter elected Amy Roberts as president, Megan Barrowman as vice president, Jerrid Neeley as secretary, and Clint Creekmore as treasurer. Dr. John Hymo serves as chapter sponsor, and Dr. Jonathan Ramey serves as corresponding secretary.

Kappa Mu Epsilon is a national mathematics honor society for students of mathematics. It is intended to develop an appreciation of the power and beauty possessed by mathematics and to provide a society for the recognition of outstanding achievement in the study of mathematics at the undergraduate level. The Kentucky Beta Chapter, founded at Cumberland College in 1993, was the second chapter in the commonwealth.

Requirements for membership are completion of three college mathematics courses including one semester of calculus, a B average or better in all mathematics courses, a ranking in the upper 35% of your class, and completion of three semesters of college courses. Transfer students must have completed at least one semester at the University of the Cumberlands.