maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



University of the Cumberlands chapter of Kappa Delta Pi inducts 40 new members


University of the Cumberlands Alpha Delta Upsilon Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi recently held their initiation and installation of new officers.

WILLIAMSBURG, Ky. – On April 18, 2009, University of the Cumberlands’ Alpha Delta Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi, the International Honor Society in Education, held its second annual installation of new members and officers.

Graduate students inducted into Kappa Delta Pi were: Tiffanie Barnett, Bardstown; Kara Branscum, Russell Springs; Lisette R. Clark, Vanceburg; Thomas L. Coffey, Mt. Vernon; Traci K. Colcer, Lexington; Janson Conley, Monticello; Laura Leigh Davenport, Williamsburg; Warren J. Dickinson, Elkton; Stacy K. Dunavent, Owenton; Alyssa M. Fuller, Mount Vernon, Ohio; Nathan L. German, Brooks; Andrew Graff, Pippa Passes; Marvin Kelly Harness, Somerset; Amber Hobdy, Nancy; Damian Houchens, Flemingsburg; Mandy Meshea Jones, Somerset; Mary Alice Kelly, Louisville; Meredith Mayo, Lexington; Julie Morton, Knoxville; Jana L. Odom, Somerset; Lisa C. Potter, Williamsburg; and Chasity Walker, Deer Lodge, Tenn.

Undergraduate students inducted into Kappa Delta Pi were: Angela Y. Baird, Williamsburg; Mollie E. Creech, Corbin; Steffan M. Crowe, Franklin, Ohio; Angie G. Davenport, Williamsburg; Delilah E. Devore, Smithfield; JoBeth Engle, Barbourville; Tia A. Hatfield, Winfield, Tenn.; Kellie R. Hatter, Danville; Sarah Z. Kamalian, Springboro, Ohio; Rebecca J. Moses, Williamsburg; David A. Sandlin, Maryville, Tenn.; Jessica H. Skeens, Williamsburg; Tommie L. Thompson, Pioneer, Tenn.; Morgan Williamson, Corbin; and Warry A. Woodard, Smithfield, Va.

Faculty members inducted into Kappa Delta Pi were Dr. Gary Pate and William “BJ” Temple.

Officers for the 2009-2010 school year are: president, Anna Engle of Batavia, Ohio; vice president, Mollie Creech of Corbin; treasurer, Rebecca Hill of Rockholds; and secretary, Morgan Williamson of Corbin.

Mrs. Rachelle Rice, Assistant Principal at Whitley County High School, was the keynote speaker for the induction ceremony. An alumna of University of the Cumberlands, she is recognized for her contributions to the area schools and students. Mrs. Rice shared personal anecdotes about teachers who touched her life and who were committed to the teaching profession. She challenged members of Kappa Delta Pi to consistently demonstrate caring and a strong work ethic as they strive to make a difference in the lives of their students.

Kappa Delta Pi, founded in 1911, encourages high professional, intellectual and personal standards and recognizes outstanding contributions to education. Membership into Kappa Delta Pi is open to education majors who are first semester sophomores, juniors or seniors ranking in the top 20 percent of their class, have a minimum G.P.A. of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, and have 12 semester hours of professional education courses. Graduate candidates must have a G.P.A. of 3.25 on a 4.0 scale, be enrolled in a degree program, have completed 6 hours of graduate work, and have 12 hours of professional education courses.