maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



Area Students Named Girl’s State Officers


WILLIAMSBURG, Ky.- During the week of June 8-13, high school girls from across the state joined together at University of the Cumberlands for the 62nd annual Girl’s State. Allana Baugher (Louisville) was elected governor; Lauren Gibson (Louisville) was selected as lieutenant governor; Sarah Reeves (Louisville) was designated as secretary of state; Lauren Cherry (Louisville) was chosen as attorney general; Tamara Slovacek (Louisville) was elected treasurer; Jordan Brower (Fort Campbell) was selected as auditor; Chapin Fausel (Louisville) was voted commissioner of agriculture; Okoye’ Cotherine (Fort Campbell) was elected commissioner of education.

Following their election, the officers traveled to Frankfort to meet their official counter parts. All of the girls were given opportunity to listen to speakers from both the state and local governments. In addition to an education in governmental processes, the girls enjoyed several social events as well. They participated in an ice cream social, karaoke night, and a talent show.

University of the Cumberlands, located in Williamsburg, Ky., is a private liberal arts college in its 119th year of operation. Cumberlands offers four undergraduate degrees in 37 major fields of study, 30 minors and nine pre-professional programs.