maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



University of the Cumberlands Chapter of Sigma Pi Sigma Inducts Seven New Members


WILLIAMSBURG, Ky.—The University of the Cumberlands Chapter of Sigma Pi Sigma inducted seven new members for 2008: Charlotte A. Abel, Yosemite, Ky.; Brian R. Bastin, Bethel, Ohio; Kristina C. Bishop, Big Bear City, Calif.; Genna M. Cummins, Mt. Vernon, Ky.; Joshua A. Frosch, Corbin, Ky.; Deidre S. Higgins, Corbin, Ky.; and Dustin R. Ursrey, Beechmont, Ky.

The chapter elected new officers for the 2008-2009 academic year, and all officers are new members. Ursrey will serve as president; Frosh, vice president; Bastin, secretary; and Higgins will be the treasurer.

Sigma Pi Sigma is the national physics honor society. Chapters are restricted to colleges and universities of recognized standing that offer a strong physics major. Students elected to membership must attain high standards of general scholarship and outstanding achievement in physics. Founded in 1921, the Sigma Pi Sigma is an affiliated society of the American Institute of Physics and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Sigma Pi Sigma is also a member of the Association of College Honor Societies. Cumberlands’ Chapter was installed as the 469th chapter in May 1998.

University of the Cumberlands, located in Williamsburg, Kentucky, is a private liberal arts college in its 119th year of operation. Cumberlands offers four undergraduate degrees in 37 major fields of study, 30 minors and nine pre-professional programs, graduate degrees and certifications in education as well as online programs.


Photo: New members of the University of the Cumberlands Chapter of Sigma Pi Sigma are: front row from left to right, Deidre Higgins, Genna M. Cummins, Kristina C. Bishop and Charlotte A. Abel; back row from left to right, Dustin R. Ursrey, Brian R. Bastin and Joshua A. Frosch.