maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



UC Kappa Mu Epsilon inducts new members


Williamsburg, Ky. – On March 4, 2014, the Kentucky Beta Chapter initiated four new members at its annual banquet at the Cumberland Inn. Deborah Wilkerson, Chapter President, presided.

New members were:

Stuart Christopher Lockhart

Ethan Franklin Brown (Dawsonville, GA)

Alexander G. Franklin (Frankfort, KY)

Patrick Ryan Rowe (Lawrenceburg, KY)

For the 2014-2015 school year, the Kentucky Beta Chapter elected Deborah Wilkerson as president, Alexander Franklin as vice president, Ethan Brown as secretary, and Matthew Maher as treasurer. Dr. Jonathan Ramey serves as chapter sponsor, and Dr. Reid Davis serves as corresponding secretary.

The Kentucky Beta Chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon, a national mathematics honor society, was founded in 1993 and is only the second such chapter in Kentucky. To be eligible to be a member of Kappa Mu Epsilon, a student must have completed 3 semesters, must be in the top 35% of their college class, must have completed 3 college-level math courses including at least one semester of calculus, and must have an average of B or higher in all math courses.

Located in Williamsburg, Ky., University of the Cumberlands is an institution of regional distinction, which currently offers four undergraduate degrees in more than 40 major fields of study; 10 pre-professional programs; ten graduate degrees distributed over eight areas, including two doctorates and seven master’s degrees; certifications in education; and online programs. For more information visit