maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



Cumberlands honor faculty and staff for years of service


Dr. Jim Taylor, President of University of the Cumberlands, congratulates Mr. Harold Hubbard on his 50 years of service to the University.

Williamsburg, KY- On Thursday, April 25th University of the Cumberlands (UC) held its 22nd annual Faculty-Staff Dinner and honored 41 individuals for years of faithful service to the University.

Mr. Harold Hubbard, Business Administration, was honored for 50 years of service to the University.

Four individuals, Dr. Oline Carmical, History and Political Science; Ms. Shanda Perkins, Post Office; Mr. Floyd Stroud, Track and Cross Country; and Ms. Linda Sutton, Financial Planning, were honored for 40 years of service.

Ms. Debbie Harp, Career Services & Leadership and Mr. Randy Vernon, Vice President of Athletics, were honored for 35 years at UC.

Recognized for 30 years of service were Ms. Kathy Fish, English; Dr. Tom Fish, Undergraduate Studies/Assessment; Ms. Kay Manning, Development; Dr. Glenda Warren, Health, Exercise and Sports Science; and Ms. Jan Wren, Library.

Individuals honored for 25 years were: Mr. Don Butcher, Men’s Basketball; Dr. Tom Dzugan, Chemistry; Mr. Donnie Grimes, Vice President of Information Services; Dr. Bruce Hicks, History and Political Science; Ms. Diane Jamison, Math and Physics; Dr. Bret Kuss, Biology; and Mr. Ken Simms, Business Administration.

Serving the University for 20 years are Mr. Steve Allen, Vice President of Financial Planning; Ms. Crystal Broyles, Psychology/Human Services; Ms. Mary Kay Bryant, Mountain Outreach; Ms. Garnet Chrisman, Education; Mr. Chuck Dupier, III, Registrar’s Office; Mr. Mark Hensley, Residence Hall; and Dr. Jeff Smoak, Music.

Recognized for 15 years of service were Ms. Alice Bowling, President’s Office; Ms. Tonya Maynard, Accounts Payable; Ms. Jennifer Wake-Floyd, Multimedia and Athletics; Ms. Lana West, Athletics; and Ms. Phyllis Wilson, Human Resources.

Those recognized for 10 years of service were Mr. Jay Bourne, Debate; Dr. Anita Bowman, Health, Exercise, and Sports Science; Dr. Tyrone Bynoe, Education; Dr. Reid Davis, Math and Physics; Mr. Tim Kane, Mail Room; Dr. Christopher Leskiw, History and Political Science; Mr. Jeffrey Schwarz, Chemistry; Ms. Brina Strebeck, Athletic Training; Mr. Kris Strebeck, Intramurals/Archery; and Ms. Jane Whitaker, Psychology.

Located in Williamsburg, Ky., University of the Cumberlands is an institution of regional distinction, which currently offers four undergraduate degrees in more than 40 major fields of study; 10 pre-professional programs; ten graduate degrees distributed over eight areas, including two doctorates and seven master’s degrees; certifications in education; and online programs. For more information visit