maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



UC Students inducted into Alpha Lambda Delta


Williamsburg, Ky. - On Monday, Feb. 24, University of the Cumberlands (UC) Chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta inducted their newest members during the Annual Initiation of the Freshmen Honorary Class. Membership is open to full-time freshmen students who earn a scholastic average of 3.5 or better at a four year college or university.

Founded in the spring of 1924 at the University of Illinois by Dean Maria Leonard, Alpha Lambda Delta is a national honor society that recognizes and encourages academic excellence among first year students. Today, Alpha Lambda Delta has over 250 chapters throughout the United States and more than 700,000 students have been initiated into membership since the first chapter was started more than 80 years ago.

During the ceremony at UC, Bonnie Nutt (Phillips, Wis.) was elected President, Annmarie Lake (Mason, Ohio) was elected Vice-President, and Kenny Wilson (Bowling Green, Ky.) was elected Secretary.

The following students were inducted into the 2014 class of Alpha Lambda Delta:

Madison Andrews (Erie, Colo.); Jaime Arevalo Encinas (Cochabamba, Bolivia); Kellie Ball (Harriman, Tenn.); Maggie Ballou (Corbin, Ky.); Sydney Beck (Lebanon, Ohio); Eric Bowen (Stanford, Ky.); Justin Bowling (East Bernstadt, Ky.); Kayla Breitenbach (Danville, Ky.); Aaron Brewer (Mason, Ohio); Andrew Buschbacher (Cincinnati, Ohio); Alex Butaud (Tullahoma, Tenn.); John Cameron (Magnolia, Ky.); Kendra Carr (Corbin, Ky.); Megan Chesney (Clinton, Tenn.); Shannon Coleman (Rush, Ky.); Kaylee Conrad (Staffordsville, Ky.); Jessica Cooling (Hamilton, Ohio); Misty Cornelius (Somerset, Ky.); Kaitlin DeJarnette (Alexandria, Ky.); Tori Dishman (Monticello, Ky.); Amerah Dixon (Corbin, Ky.); Daniel Enge (Roseville, Minn.); Shawn Evans (Williamsburg, Ky.); Chloe Fogle (London, Ky.); Josalynn Freeman (Williamsburg, Ky.); Alan Frisco (Maryville, Tenn.); Jimmy Garland (Corbin, Ky.); Amber Gray (Manchester, Ky.); Marki Hall (Oneida, Tenn.); Haley Haygood (Liberty, Miss.); Katie Herrington (Arlington, Wash.); Cassandra Herwarth (London, Ky.); Jordin Huddleston (Williamsburg, Ky.); Amanda Kelly (Georgetown, Ky.); Alexandria Knuckles (Fourmile, Ky.); Annmarie Lake (Mason, Ohio); James Laster, III (Franklin, Tenn.); Candice Lindeque (Elspark, South Africa); Briana Looney (Athens, Ala.); Bonnie Nutt (Phillips, Wis.); Galen Overstreet (Parksville, Ky.); Joshua Partin (Woodbine, Ky.); Nathan Partin (London, Ky.); Bradley Paynter (Carlisle, Ohio); Cassidy Phipps (Corbin, Ky.); Rachel Pingleton (Parksville, Ky.); Lucas Pittman (Lancing, Tenn.); Michael Prewitt (Williamsburg, Ky.); Mikayla Raines (Middlesboro, Ky.); Sarah Rainous (Cincinnati, Ohio); Krista Roberts ( Stinnett, Ky.); Brandon Rogers (Springfield, Ohio); Alexandra Schaich (Lawrenceburg, Ind.); Christopher Setters (Covington, Ky.) Michaela Sheppard (Willow Wood, Ohio); Benjamin Shoultz (Shelbyville, Ky.); Joshua Thomas (Hebron, Ky.); Makayla Tomblinson (Williamsburg, Ky.); Cesar Vasconcelos Martins (Uberlandia, Brazil); Kenny Wilson (Bowling Green, Ky.); and Ashley Wyatt (London, Ky.)

“Alpha Lambda Delta emphasizes that educated persons have a responsibility to have tolerance in their dealings with all persons, generosity in giving to those in need, and insight into the feelings of others,” says Dr. Glenda Earwood, Executive Director of the Society. All members are challenged to make a meaningful contribution to society. For more information about National Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society for first year students, visit the national website at

Located in Williamsburg, Ky., University of the Cumberlands is an institution of regional distinction, which currently offers four undergraduate degrees more than 40 major fields of study; ten pre-professional programs; ten graduate degrees distributed over eight areas, including two doctorates and seven master’s degrees; certifications in education; and online programs. For more information visit