maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



Stepp receives honorary degree from Cumberlands


Williamsburg, Ky. – On Monday, February 11th University of the Cumberlands (UC) awarded Dr. Joe Alan Stepp with an Honorary Doctor of Administration degree during the University’s Recognition Program in the Gatliff Chapel.

Dr. Stepp is the President of Alice Lloyd College and head administrator for The June Buchanan School in Pippa Passes, Kentucky. When he was named Alice Lloyd’s President in 1999, Stepp became the first native Appalachian to assume that role in the College’s history.

As President, Dr. Stepp has worked to strengthen the College’s emphasis on and preservation of its heritage as it serves a large number of students from the Eastern Kentucky region. During his tenure, Alice Lloyd has increased their endowment to $29 million and has had 15 major construction, renovation, and technology project upgrades in the last ten years.

Dr. Stepp is also active in the community as a deacon at Caney Baptist Church and as a weekly Sunday school teacher. He has served on the Pippa Passes City Council and is President of Ashland Prosthetics and Orthotics, Incorporated.

Stepp received his Bachelor of Science in biology and chemistry from Morehead State University in 1977, his Master’s degree from Eastern Kentucky University in 1982, and the Honorary Doctorate of Laws degree from the College of the Ozarks in 2001. He has also attended the College Business Management Institute at the University of Kentucky and the Harvard Seminar for New Presidents in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

When Dr. Stepp talks about his life he says, “My main objective is to spend my life in service to both God and my fellowman.”

Located in Williamsburg, Ky., University of the Cumberlands is an institution of regional distinction, which currently offers four undergraduate degrees in more than 40 major fields of study; nine pre-professional programs; twelve graduate degrees, including two doctorate, two specialist and eight master’s degrees; certifications in education; and online programs.