maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



Cumberlands Students Inducted into Alpha Lambda Delta

Williamsburg, Ky. – On Monday, March 5th, University of the Cumberlands (UC) Chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta inducted their newest members during the Annual Initiation of the Freshmen Honorary Class. Membership is open to full-time freshmen students who earn a scholastic average of 3.5 or better at a four year college or university.

Founded in the spring of 1924 at the University of Illinois by Dean Maria Leonard, Alpha Lambda Delta is a national honor society that recognizes and encourages academic excellence among first year students. Today, Alpha Lambda Delta has over 250 chapters throughout the United States and more than 700,000 students have been initiated into membership since the first chapter was started more than 80 years ago.

During the ceremony at UC, Shannon Whittenberg (Louisville, KY) was elected President, Selby Gibbons (Hamersville, OH) was elected Vice-President, and Sofia Molina (Williamsburg, KY) was elected Secretary.

The following students were inducted into the 2012 class of Alpha Lambda Delta:

Luke Atkeson, Galena, OH;<./p>

Rachel Carroll, Rockholds, KY;

Rachel Cook, Stanford, KY;

Anthony Davis, Williamsburg, KY;

Brittany Day, Harlan, KY;

Andre Filipe de Souza, Itabiva, IT;

Sarah Ashley England, Versailles, KY;

Jessica Escalante Guimaraes, Jellico, TN;

Kimberly Farr, Kennesaw, GA;

Selby Dawn Gibbons, Hamersville, OH;

Joao Vitor Gomes, Florianopolis, IT;

Ricki Gomez Hernandez, Morrow, OH;

Kristina Gramig, Shelbyville, KY;

Virginia Hallums, Cookeville, TN;

Rachel Hampton, Hopkinsville, KY;

Mallory Harper, Brodhead, KY;

Matthew Kelley, Corbin, KY;

Cody King, Pine Knot, KY;

Tia Kathleen Kingsley, Weberville, MI;

Walter Blake Kusiak, London, KY;

Matthew Scott Maher, Corbin, KY;

Shannon Danielle Marcum, Louisa, KY;

Taylor Mayes, Knoxville, TN;

Rebecca McKinney, Williamsburg, KY;

Sofia Margarita Mena Molina, Williamsburg, KY;

Chelsea Hope Moberly, Berea, KY;

Marissa Moorman, Radcliff, KY;

Madison Neveu, Knoxville, TN;

Amanda Newquist, Corbin, KY;

Angel Norton, Keavy, KY;

Taylor Purrington, Anchorage, AK;

Logan Brooke Reynolds, Corbin, KY;

Kayla Ann Sears, Williamsburg, KY;

Rachel Sims, Crab Orchard, KY;

Grahm Smith, Murfreesboro, TN;

Jonathan Smith, Central City, KY;

Coleton Terry, Williamsburg, KY;

Katelyn Turk, Bowling Green, KY;

Russell Daniel Upchurch, Corbin, KY;

Shannon Whittenberg, Louisville, KY;

Deborah Hayley Wilkerson, Berea, KY;

Ethan Worley, London, KY;

and Emily Wu, Shanghai, China.

“Alpha Lambda Delta emphasizes that educated persons have a responsibility to have tolerance in their dealings with all persons, generosity in giving to those in need, and insight into the feelings of others,” says Dr. Glenda Earwood, Executive Director of the Society. All members are challenged to make a meaningful contribution to society.

For more information about National Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society for first year students, visit the national website at

Located in Williamsburg, Ky., University of the Cumberlands is an institution of regional distinction, which currently offers four undergraduate degrees in more than 40 major fields of study; nine pre-professional programs; seven graduate degrees, including a doctorate and six master’s degrees; certifications in education; and online programs.