maincurve UC Library MyUC iLearn Webmail Home
title Media Relations Home



Cumberlands Honor Freshmen Scholars


Dr. Bob Dunston addresses the 2011-2012 Freshmen Scholars and members of the faculty and administration at University of the Cumberlands at a special dinner in their honor on Sunday, August 21, 2011 in the Boswell Campus Center Grill.

WILLIAMSBURG, KY. – The University of the Cumberlands (UC) is proud to announce the 2011-2012 Freshman Scholars.

The criteria for a Freshman Scholar require them to score a 28 or higher on the ACT or 1260 or higher on the SAT and have maintained at least a 3.5 GPA while in high school.

This achievement represents a significant honor at University of the Cumberlands and each student is recognized at the Freshman Scholars Banquet with the receipt of an honorary pin.

The following students were named Freshman Scholars for the 2011-2012 academic school year:

Luke Atkeson (Galena, OH); Kenneth Banning (Anchorage, AK); Brittany Bloyd (Louisville, KY); James Bonny (Irvine, KY); Don Butcher (Williamsburg, KY); Jillian Carpenter (Williamsburg, KY); Rachel Carroll (Rockholds, KY); Cory Clark (Seymour, TN); Laura Cobb (White Plains, KY); and Rachel Cook (Stanford, KY).

Katherine Detherage (Artemus, KY); Lawrence Drahman (Noblesville, IN); Hayley Edwards (Manchester, KY); Zeke Eier (New Carlisle, OH); Sarah England (Versailles, KY); Shelby Gibbons (Hamersville, OH); Robert Hall (La Grange, KY); Rachel Hampton (Hopkinsville, KY); Anthony Henderson (Glendale, KY); and Teresa Henderson (Pippa Passes, KY).

Matthew Kelley (Corbin, KY); Walter Kusiak (London, KY); Emily Maddux (Andersonville, TN); Matthew Maher (Corbin, TN); Taylor Mayes (Knoxville, TN); Jared McPherson (Kingston, TN); Chelsea Moberly (Berea, KY); Kristen Moran (Barbourville, KY); Madison Neveu (Knoxville, TN); and Angel Norton (Keavy, KY).

Dustin Reed (Pineville, KY); Logan Reynolds (Corbin, KY); Jonathan Smith (Central City, KY); Kristina Smith (London, KY); Caleb Stroffle (Seymour, TN); Katelyn Turk (Bowling Green, KY); Jared Vanover (Williamsburg, KY); Craig Warner (Corbin, KY); Anthony White (Glasgow, KY); and Deborah Wilkerson (Berea, KY).

Located in Williamsburg, Ky., University of the Cumberlands is an institution of regional distinction, which currently offers four undergraduate degrees; more than 40 major fields of study; nine pre-professional programs; seven graduate degrees, including a doctorate and six master’s degrees; certifications in education; and online programs.